State Senator Konni Burton Announces Tax-Payer Lobbyist Policy

State Senator Konni Burton Announces Tax-Payer Lobbyist Policy

(Austin, TX) Friday, Senator Konni Burton announced her office policy on conferring with lobbyists receiving taxpayer dollars to lobby on a particular bill. Burton’s office established the policy of turning away lobbyists when they are advocating for a position or bill on behalf of an entity using taxpayer dollars to hire them.

“We’re happy to meet with any individual in our office,” commented Chief of Staff Art Martinez de Vara. “However, if a lobbyist is taking taxpayer dollars to in turn lobby the Legislature, they will have to skip our office until they have issues their other non-taxpayer funded clients are advocating for.”

Burton commented on the policy stating, “Many taxpayers don’t even realize their own money is being used to pay lobbyists who are down in Austin, advocating for policies that could be in direct conflict with their own beliefs. As I said on the campaign trail over and over… I am here to defend and represent the taxpayer. Shining a light on this practice by not participating in it is helping to do just that. Our office is more than willing to meet with any lobbyist regarding issues facing businesses, individuals, or trade organizations, just not those who are getting paid with taxpayer dollars, who very well could be pushing policy that is in direct conflict with the will of the people. We are happy to work with local officials directly, and we would rather see these tax dollars that are used to pay lobbyists returned to the taxpayer, where it belongs.”

Burton’s office has engaged in outreach to the cities and towns that make up Senate District 10 and has an open door to both elected officials and citizens of the District. Any city or county officials or other entities are welcome to contact the office directly to meet with the Senator or staff members.

Konni Burton represents District 10 in the Texas Senate. District 10 includes portions of Tarrant County including the cities of Ft. Worth, Colleyville, Arlington, Bedford, Euless, Hurst, Southlake, Burleson, Mansfield, Kennedale, Crowley, Aledo and Forest Hill.